First Blog

I have been writing a newsletter for the last 6 years which I have sent out as an attachment to an email. This method has worked very efficiently until this year when I have had  huge problems sending it, as many, many have been returned to me as “undelivered”. I have investigated this and have been told that many of the large servers are now limiting the number of emails a subscriber can send out. My Newsletter goes out to about 600 readers  so I am clearly on the hit list!

I was assured that email will not be disappearing because it is too important to industry and public and private companies etc.

The outcome of all of this is that I have to find a different method of delivering my newsletter, and I was advised to write a blog. I am using WordPress.com and this first short blog is to alert you of the change, and to try to ensure that if you are still interested in the newsletter, that you will be able to open it. I am still learning, and by the time I write the next newsletter I will have hopefully sorted out how you may be alerted of posts as I write them!

I would be grateful if you can employ the old “bush telegraph” system and let anyone you are in touch with for the change of system. I will also do my very best to let everyone know!

I lived in Gloucestershire for about 30 years before moving to Cornwall, and have many quilting friends and colleagues in that area. I like to support them in publishing stitching exhibitions up there, as well as our exhibitions locally too. This is why there are usually diary dates for the two areas!

Here are a few reminders of the events taking place over the next couple of months.

September 14th-16th  Harbour Quilters’ Exhibition (Thursday to Saturday)  Jubilee Hall, 10 – 4.30 Raffle; refreshments, trader (Coast and Country Crafts). All proceeds in aid of Cornwall Hospice Care and other local charities. Entry  £2-00.

September 21st – 23rd  Karenza quilters exhibition, 10 am -4pm, Kea Church, near Truro, Cornwall, TR3 6AE

September 28th-30th  Trelyn Quilters’ Exhibition, Fraddon Village Hall, The Old A30, St Columb Major, Fraddon, Saint Columb TR9 6NT

October 12th, 13th, 14th; Leominster Quilters Exhibition: Sports and Social Club Hall, South St, Leominster HR6 8JQ: ex British Legion Hall, same place different name!

 October 6th– 12th  Cotswold Edge have an exhibition of new works.  This very respected group of artists comprise: Liz Brooke Ward [contemporary stitched textiles], David Laycock [copper foil glass art and fused glass], and incidentally my twin brother, and Grahame R Tucker [sculpture in wood]. The venue for the Exhibition and Sale is: The Great Oak Hall, Westonbirt Arboretum from 10:00am to 4:00pm daily except on the 6th (11:30am to 4:00pm). Why not treat yourself to a day at the arboretum, and a visit to the exhibition. You will not be disappointed, I promise you.

Finally, in this introductory blog, here are two photographs of a piece of work I have completed recently, which will be in Harbour Quilters exhibition next week. I was inspired by the wonderful Kantha work of the late Tricia Warman, which was being displayed at Cowslip Workshops summer fair this year.  It wasn’t long before I was designing my own small panel. I prepared a background to support many small pieces of fabric. These were a selection of my hand dyed fabrics, and some liberty prints, within a limited colour palette. I stitched rows of close stitches over the entire surface, staggering the rows slightly. Some are vertical, and others horizontal. The result is a lovely textured ripply surface which is known as Kantha. There are many interpretations of Kantha. If you are interested there is a lot of information on the internet.

Until next time….

 

 

13 thoughts on “First Blog

  1. Hi Di. More than happy to embrace your new format!! Always love getting your newsletters and hearing all about the beautiful things you are getting up to and creating. I’m sure you will find this an easier way to communicate with so many people at once.
    xxx Vee

    Like

  2. Hi Di,
    Received your first Blog. Always loved your newsletters and get a lot of inspiration from them. The local quilting news is always useful too.
    Sarah Rollinson, Plymouth

    Like

  3. Hi Di, I adore your great ability never to stop learning and making new things. You are the example for me to follow. Frankly speaking I don’t stitch much but looking at the things you do fills me with inspiration! Thank you and go on with making the world look more beautiful!

    Like

  4. Back home to make sure I subscribe to your blogs,a new one for me too, we have to try to keep up with technology!
    Great Harbour Quilters exhibition, lovely to see old friends from my days of living in Gorran Haven and catch up with newer friends who I haven’t see all summer. Some lovely quilts on display.
    Des greatly admired your houses wall hanging, sorry can’t remember what you named it, but the black, white and pink/red and the fascination of Fibionacci. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

